War in Ukraine: Russia sanctions 29 Americans, including Mark Zuckerberg and Kamala Harris – franceinfo

Moscow’s reaction was immediate. After the sanctions against Russia because of the conflict in Ukraine, the Kremlin prohibited, Thursday, April 21, the entry on its territory to 29 American personalities, including the leader of Meta, Mark Zuckerberg, and the American vice-president, Kamala Harris. >> Follow live the latest information on the situation in Ukraine In addition, 61 Canadian personalities, mostly government or military officials, are also targeted by this measure. These American and Canadian citizens “are banned from entering Russia for an indefinite period”, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in two statements. On the American side, several government officials, such as Deputy Defense Minister Kathleen Hicks and Pentagon spokesperson John Kirby are targeted. This is also the case for several figures in the worlds of finance, such as the boss of the powerful Bank of America Brian Moynihan, and in the defense industry, such as the leader of Northrop Grumman, Kathy Warden. Finally, several media personalities were also targeted, including George Stephanopoulos, co-host of ABC’s morning show “Good Morning America”, and David Ignatius, columnist at the Washington Post. Russian diplomacy explains that it has targeted these “journalists and experts” accusing them of defending a “Russophobic agenda”. On the Canadian side, we find in particular the director of communications for Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Cameron Ahmad, and the commander of the special forces, Steve Boivin. Previously, Russia had already sanctioned several hundred American and Canadian figures, including US President Joe Biden and Justin Trudeau, in response to the punitive measures taken by their countries against Moscow.