• Thu. Jan 27th, 2022

The Best: Messi, Lewandowski and Salah compete for the FIFA award


Jan 14, 2022

(CNN Spanish) — On January 17, FIFA will present The Best award for the best player of the year in the men’s branch. Of the initial 11 nominees, there are three finalists: Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski and Mohamed Salah. The Argentine star, former FC Barcelona player and now with Paris Saint-Germain in France, won the Ballon d’Or in November. Will he win this new award?

This is what you should know about this edition of The Best.

When is?

The award ceremony for The Best will be on January 17, 2022 at 1 pm (Miami time). It will take place in Zurich and will be presented by Reshmin Chowdhury and Jermaine Jenas, according to FIFA.

How to see it?

It can be seen live on the FIFA website and the official FIFA channel on Youtube.

How does FIFA choose The Best player?

The federation indicates that it votes with an international jury “composed of the current coaches of all the men’s national teams, the current captains of all the men’s national teams and a specialized journalist from each territory represented by a national team.” In addition, FIFA takes into account the vote of fans registered on fifa.com

Specifically, what is taken into consideration is sports performance during the period between October 8, 2020 and August 7, 2021.

Who aspires to the prize in this edition?

In the male branch: Lionel Messi (Argentina, Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern München), Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool FC).

Mo Salah photographed in 2018. Credit: Dan Istitene/Getty Images

In the female branch: Jennifer Hermoso (Spain, FC Barcelona), Sam Kerr (Australia, Chelsea FC), Alexia Putellas (Spain, FC Barcelona).

Male goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy, AC Milan and current Paris Saint-Germain), Édouard Mendy (Senegal, Chelsea FC), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern München).

Female goalkeeper: Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany, Chelsea FC), Christiane Endler (Chile, Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique de Lyon), Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (Canada, C Rosengård / Paris Saint-Germain).

Trainer: Pep Guardiola (Spain, Manchester City), Roberto Mancini (Italy, Italy National Team), Thomas Tuchel (Germany, Chelsea FC).

Women’s team coach: Lluís Cortés (Spain, FC Barcelona), Emma Hayes (England, Chelsea FC), Sabrina Wiegman, (Netherlands, Netherlands National Team / England National Team).

And Cristiano Ronaldo, what?

Although he is not among the finalists of this edition, he is one of the previous winners of The Best award. Previous winners in the men’s category are: Lionel Messi (2016 and 2019), Cristiano Ronaldo (2017), Luka Modric (2018) and Robert Lewandowski (2020).

Portraits of the finalists for The Best in 2020 award. Credit: VALERINO DI DOMENICO/POOL/AFP via Getty Images